"There were shelves upon shelves of the most succulent-looking sweets imaginable. Creamy chunks of nougat, shimmering pink squares of coconut ice, fat, honey-coloured toffees [and] hundreds of different kinds of chocolate in neat rows.”
There’s a reason visiting Honeydukes is a rite of passage for every Third Year at Hogwarts. The famous sweets shop is renowned throughout the Wizarding World as a sort of confectionary wonderland.
And while it’s never described exactly what ingredients go into making Ambrosius Flume’s legendary Honeydukes fudge and chocolates, we can imagine the purveyor of candies galore has a fair few non-dairy and vegan options scattered throughout the crammed shelves of its mouthwatering confections.
The Muggle world is also becoming more aware of the demands for cruelty-free chocolate among animal lovers. In most American chocolates, milk is the first or second ingredient. Yes. In some of the most recognizable and mass marketed American chocolates, cow’s milk gets top billing over cocoa butter!
It’s baffling enough to make anyone feel like they’ve been hit by a nasty confundus charm.
But, with the rise of non-dairy plant-based beverages, chocolate companies are realizing that they too can ditch cruel and outdated dairy and still create chocolate that’s worth obsessing over.
For instance, Lindt just announced they’re releasing an oat-milk based line of vegan chocolate, Hello, in November 2020. The Honeydukes-worthy flavors include Cookie, Salted Caramel, and Hazelnut.
And prior to Lindt’s announcement, Trader Joe’s proudly shared that they have an almond milk chocolate bar in the works.
Easter chocolate fan favorite Cadbury is also creating their own nut-free, vegan milk chocolate bar!
But that doesn’t mean you have to wait to satisfy your sweet tooth. Just like the hundreds of chocolates on Honeydukes’ shelves, there’s an entire world of readily available vegan chocolates in most stores and online!
Here are some of our favorite vegan-friendly brands and their yummy flavors!
Endangered Species Chocolate
Certified Vegan varieties:
No Whey! Chocolate
Hu chocolate bar flavors include:
Vegan flavors include:
Enjoy Life Rice Milk Chocolate
Enjoy Life has three vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, non-GMO chocolate bars:
Vegan varieties include:
Vegan varieties include:
So what should you look out for when avoiding non-vegan chocolate?
Cow’s milk and cow’s milk derived ingredients, including:
Sugar: In some instances, especially in the United States, white refined sugar is filtered through bone char to give it its pristine white color. Many chocolate companies use this bone char-filtered sugar in their products (as do cookie companies, so, “accidentally” vegan oreos, may not be vegan at all for instance, as Nabisco refuses to say whether or not they use bone char). The best way to find out if a chocolate company is using bone char-filtered sugar (other than checking for certified vegan labeling) is by asking them directly.
This is just the beginning though! Be sure to check back when we release the second part of our compassionate chocolate series, where we will look into the unnecessary cruelty of the dairy industry and why cow’s milk has absolutely NO place in chocolate bars.
Written by Victoria Tomis